The following message is from FACTSS.org,  a Statewide Steering Committee of volunteers who are concerned Condominium Association leaders from every area of Florida. FACTSS is committed to protect condo owners’ right to opt out of expensive fire prevention systems. An opt-out right that is threatened by pending legislation that is being voted on this week.

LEGISLATIVE CALL TO ACTION: PLEASE SHARE THIS INFORMATION WITH YOUR MANAGERS, BOARD MEMBERS AND OWNERS IMMEDIATELY. It is critical to get emails to these state legislators before they vote in committee on Tuesday, April 23.

TUESDAY (April 23): The Senate Rules Committee will vote on SB 908 – a bill that mandates an Engineered Life Safety System (ELSS) in condo and coop association buildings that opted-out of sprinklers. This is the last committee that will vote on SB 908 – and if it passes, the bill will be eligible for a vote by the full State Senate. We need to stop SB 908 in the Rules Committee.
Please email the members of the Rules Committee and tell them to VOTE NO ON SB 908.

 

Senator
Lizbeth Benacquisto (R), Chair
Audrey Gibson (D), Vice Chair
Lauren Book (D)
Rob Bradley (R)
Jeff Brandes (R)
Oscar Braynon II (D)
Anitere Flores (R)
Travis Hutson (R)
Tom Lee (R)
Bill Montford (D)
Kathleen Passidomo (R)
Jose Javier Rodriguez (D)
David Simmons (R)
Wilton Simpson (R)
Kelli Stargel (R)
Perry E. Thurston, Jr. (D)

 

Email:
benacquisto.lizbeth@flsenate.gov
gibson.audrey@flsenate.gov
book.lauren@flsenate.gov
bradley.rob@flsenate.gov
brandes.jeff@flsenate.gov
braynon.oscar@flsenate.gov
flores.anitere@flsenate.gov
hutson.travis@flsenate.gov
lee.tom@flsenate.gov
montford.bill@flsenate.gov
passidomo.kathleen@flsenate.gov
rodriguez.jose@flsenate.gov
simmons.david@flsenate.gov
simpson.wilton@flsenate.gov
stargel.kelli@flsenate.gov
thurston.perry@flsenate.gov

 

OUR MESSAGE:
We oppose SB 908 that mandates an Engineered Life Safety System (ELSS) be installed in over 4,300 condo and coop buildings across the state. The state legislature in 2010 gave these owners the statutory right to vote to opt-out of retrofitting sprinklers and ELSS is just another way of bypassing that right given to association owners. Financial costs of ELSS will displace thousands of elderly and fixed-income residents in the 4,300 buildings who opted-out of sprinklers. In testimony before a House committee last week, a 93- unit building received bids of $1 – $1.7 million to install an ELSS – that’s between $10,000 to $18,000 per unit. Similar bids have been received by other associations across Florida. These are real costs – not guesses.
Those advocating for an ELSS have now admitted that the costs of ELSS will far outweigh any insurance savings over the next 10 years. We have, over the years, spent millions of dollars to upgrade and improve fire safety technology in our buildings. Even if buildings opt-out of ELSS, they will still be required to comply with Chapter 31, which provides for additional fire safety measures. Please do not place additional and unnecessary financial burdens on seniors living in high-rise buildings. Let them decide.
We urge you to VOTE NO on SB 908Click on each email address (one at a time) – which will create your email with the standard message. You can add to the standard message or use it as written. Add your name, address, phone number and building name with the number of units in the building (ABC Condo – 423 units).
To contact all these members will take you about five minutes – that five minutes could save your building millions of dollars.GOVERNOR DESANTIS: It’s important that Governor DeSantis hear from our members – as he will have the final decision once a completed bill reaches his desk. In the past, it has been a governor’s veto that has killed similar bills. So let the governor know we support the opt-out provisions of an ELSS.Ron.Desantis@eog.myflorida.com

OUR MESSAGE:
We oppose mandating an Engineered Life Safety System (ELSS) be installed in over 4,300 condo and coop buildings across the state. The state legislature in 2010 gave these associations and their owners the statutory right to vote to opt-out of retrofitting sprinklers. ELSS is just another way of bypassing that right given to association owners. Financial costs of ELSS will displace thousands of elderly and fixed-income residents in the 4,300 buildings who previously opted-out of sprinklers. In testimony before a House committee last week, a 93- unit building received bids of $1 – $1.7 million to install an ELSS – that’s between $10,000 to $18,000 per unit. Similar bids have been received by other associations across Florida. These are real costs – not guesses.
Those advocating for an ELSS have now admitted that the costs of ELSS will far outweigh any insurance savings over the next 10 years. We have, over the years, spent millions of dollars to upgrade and improve fire safety technology in our buildings. Even if buildings opt-out of ELSS, they will still be required to comply with Chapter 31, which provides for additional fire safety measures.
Please do not mandate additional and unnecessary financial burdens on seniors living in high-rise buildings. Let them decide by a vote of the owners whether or not to opt-out of installing an ELSS.

  1. lois mc cullough says:

    We have already opted out . That was fine.
    A situation we are now in:
    4 units were completely demolished due to the hurricane Sept. 2017.
    Building new uinits is considered a NEW BUILD, not a rebuild, and we are forced , by the county, to put in a sprinkler system to meet current codes.
    Because the building will still be only 2 stories, a lower level unit and a unit above, can we also opt out the placement of a sprinkler system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.